Stars of Advocacy

Vizcaya | Sacramento, CA
April 24, 2024

The California Chronic Care Coalition

Stars of Advocacy

Was Held On

April 24, 2024

6:00PM – 9:00PM
(black tie optional)

Thank You!

You're Invited

to the Stars of Advocacy Gala

The California Chronic Care Coalition was very proud to, post-pandemic, bring back the Stars of Advocacy Gala. The Stars of Advocacy Gala is an awards ceremony honoring Star advocates chosen by each of our 30-plus member organizations.

We are honored to have you support and for those that joined us for an evening of empowerment and inspiration as we thanked these Stars of Advocacy.

Please see list below for information on our 2024 Stars!

Heroes of Advocacy

Heroes of Advocacy

The ongoing, vital work being done by the CCCC and its member organizations in fighting for the health of those with chronic diseases would not be possible were it not for outstanding individuals who give freely of their time, talent, and resources to advocate to improve the lives of others. Their work often includes outreach into and advocacy for some of California’s most underserved, ethnically diverse communities, and on issues such as utilization management, step therapy, obesity, vaccinations, health equity, accumulator, and PBM practices that can create barriers to care for people with chronic conditions. These individuals have demonstrated their commitment by serving, educating, and empowering others. The Stars of Advocacy Gala celebrates these outstanding heroes of advocacy and ensures the continuation of the vital work to improve health care for California’s consumers with chronic diseases.

Stars of Advocacy

Alliance of Patient Access
Wesley Mizutani, MD.

ALS Association
Spero Koulouras

American Diabetes Association
Hillary Liber

Arthritis Foundation
Steven Schultz

Axis Advocacy
Marissa Cors

California Life Sciences
Trish McDaid-O’Neill

California Pharmacists Association
Joel Hickman – Pucci’s Pharmacy

California Pharmacists Association
Clint Hopkins – Pucci’s Pharmacy

VIP Award Winners

Legacy Award
Senator Pro Tempore Emeritus, Toni Atkins

Assemblymember of the Year Award
Akilah Weber, MD

Senator of the Year Award
Steven Bradford

Lifetime Achievement Award
William Bommer, MD

Rising Star Award
Macy Coad

Lifetime of Advocacy Award
Joan Werblun, RN (ret.)

Stars of Advocacy

California Rheumatology Alliance
Samy Metyas, MD.

Carrie’s TOUCH
Christi Ketchum

Hemophilia Council of California
Carson Knight

Looms for Lupus
Juana Mata

National Multiple Sclerosis Society
Marguerite Casillas

California Hepatitis C Task Force
Patricia Perkins

California Academy of Family Physicians
Dave Tran, MD.

Stars of Advocacy

All Rights Reserved © 2024 California Chronic Care Coalition
Website Design and Hosting by MCG.